Conservation Commission

Upcoming Conservation Commission Meetings are scheduled for 6:00 PM, unless otherwise indicated, on 

 Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Virtual Meeting beginning at 6:00pm; details for attending here.

 

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Tuesday, August 4, 2020

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Tuesday, September 15, 2020

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Tuesday, November 3, 2020

Tuesday, Nove,ber 3, 2020

Tuesday, November 17, 2020

Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Tuesday, December 15, 2020 

Click here for filing deadlines for public hearings

Agendas are usually posted the Thursday before each meeting.
Please note, meetings are generally held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month.
These dates may be subject to change due to Holidays.

The Conservation Commission administers the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act (MG.L. Chapter 131, Section 40), The Rivers Protection Act and related regulations as well as the Town of Sturbridge Wetland Bylaws, Regulations and Policies. The purpose of these regulations, policies  and bylaws is to protect the wetlands, related water resources and adjoining land areas (buffer zones) in Sturbridge.  This is done by monitoring and reviewing activities jurisdictional to the Sturbridge Conservation Commission through the permit application process.  The Conservation Commission reviews projects that will likely have a significant or cumulative effect upon resource area values. More information on Wetlands

The Commission sponsors an annual Lakes Monitoring Program, and administers an annual Earth Day trash clean up. 

 If you can not find information or would like to see something posted that is not here, please email or give us a call.  

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Rebecca Gendreau Conservation Agent
Holly Lapidus Administrative Assistant

Conservation Commissioners

NameTitleTerm Expires
Edward Goodwin

Chairman

2021

Steven Chidester

Vice-Chairman

2021

David Barnicle

Member

2022

Steve Halterman

Member

2022

Erik Gaspar

Member

2022