Conservation Commission


Until further notice all upcoming Sturbridge Conservation Commission meetings will be VIRTUAL MEETINGS.  Please see Meeting Schedule tab for more information.  


Please click here for our Updated Document Policy.

Tuesday March 2, 2021

Tuesday March 16, 2021

Tuesday April 6, 2021

Conservation Submission Deadline: PASSED

Tuesday May 4, 2021

Tuesday May 18, 2021

Tuesday June 1, 2021

Tuesday June 15, 2021

Tuesday July 20, 2021

  • Conservation Submission Deadline: June 29th
  • Legal Ad Publication:Thursday July 8th
Please note, meetings are generally held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month.
These dates may be subject to change.

The Conservation Commission administers the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act (MG.L. Chapter 131, Section 40), The Rivers Protection Act and related regulations as well as the Town of Sturbridge Wetland Bylaws, Regulations and Policies. The purpose of these regulations, policies  and bylaws is to protect the wetlands, related water resources and adjoining land areas (buffer zones) in Sturbridge.  This is done by monitoring and reviewing activities jurisdictional to the Sturbridge Conservation Commission through the permit application process.  The Conservation Commission reviews projects that will likely have a significant or cumulative effect upon resource area values. More information on Wetlands

The Commission sponsors an annual Lakes Monitoring Program, and administers an annual Earth Day trash clean up. 

 If you can not find information or would like to see something posted that is not here, please email or give us a call.  

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Rebecca Gendreau Conservation Agent
Erin Carson Administrative Assistant

Conservation Commissioners

NameTitleTerm Expires
Edward Goodwin



Steven Chidester



David Barnicle



Steve Halterman



Erik Gaspar