Board of Health



The Sturbridge Board of Health (BoH), like all local Boards of Health in Massachusetts, is required by state statutes and regulations to perform many duties relative to the protection of public health including the control of disease, the promotion of sanitary living conditions and the protection of the environment from damage and pollution.  This is accomplished through the inspection of food establishments, on-site wastewater systems, wells, public accommodations (hotels/motels/inns), housing, pools and beaches; the investigation of communicable diseases and nuisances; and the oversight of solid waste management and recycling.  Many of the board’s responsibilities are also coordinated with housing and plumbing inspections and the department of public works as well as other regional and state agencies.    

The Board meets the first and third Mondays of each month, typically, at the Center Office Building 301 Main St., 2nd Floor at 5:30PM.  The BoH agenda and meeting locations are posted on the town main page under town news in accordance with the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law.


Current News:

**The Board of Health Fee Schedule was updated on July 30, 2018. The Fee Schedule can be found in the 'Fee Schedule' tab to your left. 

**On April 23, 2018 the Board of Health voted at its duly posted meeting to no longer accept ETR Lab water reports until the pending litigation with DEP. Sorry for any inconvenience. 

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Erin Carson Administrative Assistant 508-347-2504
Tricia Valiton Health Inspector
Kenneth Lacey Health Agent

Board Members

Name Title
Linda Cocalis Chair
George DeBusk Member
Richard Volpe Member